GALLERY GIF
2019
INTERIOR, BRANDING, ART
RUSSIA
89 sq. m

PHOTO BY ALEXANDER KHOM

A place creates meaning. The client wanted to reorganize a former cafe into a space where people can get acquainted with young local brands or present their own projects. Together with the customer, we conducted research and created the multi brand showroom called Gallery Gif — a place where principles of retail stores and exhibition spaces have been combined.

There was nothing left that resembled the previous venture: the floors, the ceiling, the walls and outdated utilities were completely dismantled. This project was implemented with a small budget and in a short time, and it helped us make quick decisions and quickly implement them. All work there went in parallel. So, we developed the interior design project, which set the general logical framework of semantic and visual concepts, and only after that we proceeded with branding along with the construction work.

Mobility was especially important in this project. The client wanted everything in the showroom to constantly change, renew and take different forms. Therefore, there was a lot of free space in the middle of the room to conduct presentations, lectures and master classes, or organize mobile exhibitions. People coming to such events can sit on a soft pedestal, which also has some space inside to hold their possessions.

Metal exhibition stands were placed around the perimeter of the showroom. Each of them was designed and manufactured specifically for each brand. The color identification of the stands was used to visually emphasize their differences from each other. In general, we decided to make the room monochrome, and use concrete, plaster and metal as the main materials, so the color designs of stands could look like separate art objects. It is also planned that the exhibition stands will be modified in the future, thus being used in a new perspective. Lighting is implemented with the help of spots on ceiling bars which also help to correctly set up light accents while changing the exhibition stands.

Minimalism in this project was expressed not only in general stylistic decisions, but also in the project implementation process itself. In a short time and with a minimum budget, we managed to create a place where new ideas could be born.

BRANDING

After creating the visual part of the interior, we began to develop the branding. The name of the gallery was invented together with the client, and it greatly expressed the general concept of the place. Such associations as interchangeability, emotionality, and eventfulness ideally suited as general reference points. After that, a search for forms expressing these concepts in visual communication was conducted. As a result, a monochrome grid became the basic graphic element which determines the shape of the environment and distorts the space around. The colors of the exhibition stands that were used in the interior were reflected in color gradients and stripes, expressing the connection of brands among themselves. As part of this concept, we created a line of posters, banners and invitation cards.

We also puzzled out how to reflect the elements of branding in the interior. The whole idea was to place large racks with storage boxes which have analog LED panels with moving lines of text on their sides.

ART

At the end of this project, we launched the creation of an artwork that was completed in a few hours. It expressed such ideas that one needs to move quickly, realize their potential, create and constantly try new things, because the only thing needed for it is some enthusiasm. This art may seem extremely simple, but that is its essential part. In this work, we reflected what this room is capable of and why it now exists. Infinitely bright objects are born in an infinitely empty place forming an infinite number of variants.

GALLERY GIF
2019
ИНТЕРЬЕР, БРЕНДИНГ, АРТ
Россия
89 кв. м

Фотограф Александр Хом

Место создает смыслы. В помещении бывшего кафе заказчик хотел создать пространство нового формата, в котором посетители могут знакомиться с молодыми локальными брендами, а также где созданы условия для появления новых проектов. Вместе с заказчиком мы провели исследовательскую работу и создали мультибрендовый шоурум Gallery Gif — место, в котором соединились принципы ритейла и чистых экспозиционных пространств.

От предыдущего заведения в этом помещении не осталось ничего — полностью были демонтированы покрытия пола, потолка, стен и устаревшие инженерные коммуникации. Этот проект был реализован с небольшим бюджетом и в сжатые сроки, что помогло принимать быстрые решения и оперативно их реализовывать. Все работы тут шли параллельно. Так, сначала был разработан дизайн-проект интерьера, который задал общие логические рамки смысловых и визуальных концепций. А уже после этого вместе со строительными работами шла разработка брендинга и создание законченного образа места.

В этом проекте была особенно важна мобильность. Заказчик хотел, чтобы в шоуруме всё постоянно менялось, обновлялось и принимало разные формы. Поэтому в центре помещения осталось много свободного пространства, чтобы была возможность проводить здесь презентации, лекции и мастер-классы, а также устраивать мобильные выставки. Для гостей мероприятий предусмотрено размещение на мягком подиуме, внутри которого также есть места для дополнительного хранения.

Выставочные стенды из металла разместились по периметру шоурума. Каждый из них был спроектирован и изготовлен специально для каждого бренда. В интерьере была использована цветовая идентификация стендов, чтобы визуально подчеркнуть их отличия друг от друга. В целом же помещение было решено сделать монохромным, а в качестве основных материалов использовать бетон, штукатурку и металл. В том числе и для того, чтобы цветные конструкции стендов на нейтральном фоне выглядели как отдельные арт-объекты. В дальнейшем планируется, что выставочные стенды могут видоизменяться и использоваться в новом качестве. Освещение тут решено с помощью спотов на потолочных шинах, которые при смене выставочных стендов также помогают правильно расставить световые акценты.

Минимализм в этом проекте выразился не только в общих стилистических решениях, но и в самом процессе реализации проекта. За короткий срок и с минимальным бюджетом удалось создать среду для появления новых идей.

БРЕНДИНГ

После создания визуализаций интерьера мы начали разработку брендинга пространства. Вместе с заказчиком было придумано название Gif, которые емко выразило общую концепцию места. Такие ассоциации, как сменяемость, эмоциональность и наполненность событиями, идеально подошли в качестве общих смысловых ориентиров. После этого был проведен поиск форм для выражения этого в визуальной коммуникации. В итоге базовым графическим элементом стала монохромная сетка, которая определяет форму окружающей среды и искажает пространство вокруг. А цвета выставочных стендов, которые были использованы в интерьере, отразились в цветовых градиентах и полосах, выражающие связь брендов между собой. В рамках этой концепции к запуску проекта был создан дизайн афиш, баннеров и пригласительных билетов.

Также мы разработали, как можно отразить элементы брендинга в интерьере. Родилась концепция больших стеллажей с ящиками для хранения, по бокам которых размещены аналоговые LED-панели с бегущими строками текста.

АРТ

В финале этого проекта мы организовали создание арт-работы, которая была реализована за несколько часов. В ней выразились идеи, что нужно двигаться быстро, реализовываться, творить и постоянно пробовать новое, ведь для этого требуется лишь немного решительности. Этот арт может показаться предельно простым, но в этом и есть его суть. В этой работе мы отразили, на что это помещения способно и зачем оно теперь существует. В бесконечно пустом должно рождаться безгранично яркое в бесконечном количестве вариантов.